ACL Poll – Graft type

Perhaps the best thing about the various ACL blogs that are out is the chance to see how the experiences of other ACL recoveree differ from each other, and yet how they also seem to lead to the same result.  

In this spirit, I thought it might fun, and maybe helpful, to post a series of entirely unscientific polls about things like graft choice, braces, PT, and recovery stages, and ultimately return to sport.    Ideally, it’d be best to use something like SurveyMonkey or GoogleDocs’s polling feature to create a multi-question survey where you can filter responses.  But I don’t expect to get a very serious sample out of this, so this’ll just be for curiosity’s sake. 

If you have any particular questions you’d like to ask, feel free to post them in a comment and I’ll try to create polls for them.  Enjoy.

ACL Graft Technique
( polls)

2 Responses

  1. Actually, my first PT session was a month or so BEFORE my operation. The goals were to pre-strengthen my leg muscles, so when they deteriorated after surgery they fell from a higher level; and to prepare me for an extended period of using crutches (I had a meniscus tear as well which meant I couldn’t put weight on my knee even in a brace).

    My first post-surgery session was within three days.

  2. BobSpar,

    You make a great point. I did a bunch of PT before my surgery as well, and I think it was a big help. I’ll see if I can concoct a poll for that as well, since the point of this is to give people some snapshot looks how this whole process might go.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

