Month 9, ACL Recovery

My knee has a lot to say

My knee continues to talk to me, especially when I’m exercising. It chatters almost constantly I as go through my moves and get down into in my stances. Sometimes it grunts, and occasionally it just says no. With one exception, it hasn’t really screamed at me, nor has it cursed. But one thing’s for sure, it’s a real complainer, my knee.

It’s also a moody little fellow who frequently contradicts himself. For a couple of weeks now, I’ve been meaning to write an update but haven’t been able to get a coherent message out of him. So I guess that’s the message. Some days I feel better and some days worse.

An example

Just this past Sunday, my knee felt great. I was going upstairs with barely a twinge, kicking a soccer ball with my son outside, and even feeling pretty good going through my kata. My knee wasn’t completely quiet, but it was murmuring more than anything else.

Then I went to the gym on Monday. After I lifted weights I kicked a soccer ball around on the basketball court with my son for about 20 minutes or so. I stretched, iced my knee as we ate lunch a little while later, and took my ibuprophen as usually.

I woke up the next day with a very disgruntled knee. Complaining turned to shouting at times, and I felt pain even just sitting around.

The day after that was markedly better, but it was no where near how it had been before the trip to gym. I went to karate, hoping for the best, but the knee was not happy and told me so. I had to sit down a little early and ice my knee for the last 15 minutes of the class.

The good news

Even with the pain on Tuesday and the discomfort in class on Wednesday, Thursday was much better. I lifted weights again on Friday, and this morning the knee is fairly quiet.

I can’t wait for the day when the knee stays relatively quiet. I haven’t really tested it yet today, but I know that day is not today. Still, this rotten week seems to be ending on a high note, so I’m giving the knee a well deserved day of rest and, hopefully, silence. Tomorrow though, it’s back to karate class for a measured open workout.

Yes, no, maybe

Overall, I feel pretty certain that things are improving. Of course, I want them to improve faster, and I worry that I won’t ever get where I want to be. It’s hard to remember pain precisely, which makes comparing today with a few weeks ago almost impossible. You ask yourself, “Did it feel quite worse the last time I did this move?” The answer is rarely a definitive “Yes!” It’s rarely a “No!” though. It’s almost always, “Maybe.”

And that’s nine months for me, a solid, frustrating, but hopeful “Maybe.”

2 Responses

  1. I was glad to read an update. It sounds to me like you are right on track….”a hopeful maybe”. Nine months was a tough time frame because my knee felt good enough to do most things but still not 100%. Months six through twelve were more frustrating for me that the first six. Improvement was slow and often hard to notice. Good luck!

    It has been 21 months and my knee is still noisy. My knee aches a little during Tai Chi but that has improved. In karate, I still have a few uncomfortable moves in kata such as dropping to one knee (new ACL). I view my knee as having a “new normal”.

  2. 10 months here and also a “hopeful maybe”…good to know I’m somewhat on track ;)

Leave a Reply

